21 Comments

Sadly missed the event but I'd like to put a comment here anyways.

Online i go by jay, I'm in my 20s and from Germany. Getting a degree in urban planning rn.

Top 5 shows:

A league of their own

Gentleman Jack

Supergirl (the show was .. not super good lol but i was helpless to resist the fandom)

The owl house

The handmaiden (what an amazing film!)

There are so many great movies and shows people need to watch more! But my vote gotta be for: Wild nights with Emily (wich is a true to history retelling of Emily Dickinson's life that was made together with her museum, it's low budget, the actors aren't know at all, but it's true and it's funny and it's queer and if u enjoyed the series about Emily Dickinson then you'll love this movie i promise)

Expand full comment

late to the game on this but hello! Steph here, 34 from Minneapolis, artist working in IT.

Top lesbian/queer media:

Vida

The Bisexual

The Real L Word (lolol)

Sex Education

Killing Eve

Vida and The Bisexual are tied for shows that more people should watch!!!!

I guess I'll push my website (stephanieohdee.com), where I have some art...not for sale, just on display. Hoping to eventually get a shop going for stickers, prints, etc...would also love to collab on a zine again, as I haven't in years and years but love doing!

Expand full comment

Hey y’all, I’m Allie! I’m 34 and live in Providence, Rhode Island with my partner and dog. I’m a commercial photographer (my partner and I are a photo team) and a lot of what we photograph involves the queer community.

Top fave lesbian media: Gentleman Jack, Disobedience, Portrait of a Lady on Fire. 100000% wish more people would watch GJ!

Expand full comment

I'm Ellie, I'm 38, originally from Brighton in England but in Paris, France for the last 10 years. My top five lesbian media is But I'm a Cheerleader, Killing Eve (except the end!), Grey's Anatomy, Happiest Season, and Everything Everywhere All At Once.

A film more people should watch is A Secret Love.

Expand full comment

I'm Shar (or Sharmane)! I live in Singapore, I am 23. Currently doing my Masters in English Literature, one more year left!

Top five lesbian / lesbian-adjacent media: Gentleman Jack, Disobedience, The Handmaiden, Person of Interest, Desert Hearts

Wish more people would watch Person of Interest even though Root/Shaw come in later, it's excellent and beautiful start to finish. One of my very favorites!

Expand full comment

My name is Selina, I live in the United States. I’m 26 years old, married to the most incredible woman in the world.

1. Portrait of a Lady on Fire

2. The Price of Salt (the book is so incredible, so much better than the movie!)

3. A Secret Love (Netflix)

4. She-Ra

5. Fan fiction.net

**** Gentleman prefer Blondes is an older movie, and not canonically queer, but has a lot of queer energy! Also Marylin Monroe!

Expand full comment

Hi! Victoria here. I’m originally from Armenia, but residing in France for 8th year now. I’m a writer focusing on exploring multilayered relationships between women and playing with different narrative styles (because arc and 3-act story structure are so masculine!).

I’m very (VERY) influenced by the Price of Salt (aka Carol) book and Carol film (obvi). I wish more people would read the book (and see the movie).

Other favorites are 8 women (French movie), Portrait of a Lady on Fire, Olivia (filmed in 1951 and based on the novel).

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2022·edited Jul 10, 2022

Hiya! I'm Nicole. I'm originally from Massachusetts but teach English and Gender & Sexuality Studies at a small liberal arts college in south-central IL. My favorite lesbian/queer media: Gentleman Jack, Nella Larsen's Passing (film and novella), San Junipero, Carol, Dickinson, But I'm a Cheerleader, Jennifer's Body, Janelle Monet's videos, (the super squishy and lovely) Heartbreaker, First Kill (I know it's bad but I still love it).

Underrated queer thing to watch: both Venom films (I swear there's a delightful homoerotic story juuust under the surface there). Short story to read: Amal Al-Mohtar's "Seasons of Glass and Iron" which you can read here: https://www.uncannymagazine.com/article/seasons-glass-iron/

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2022·edited Jul 10, 2022

I’m sally, age 43. My hall of fame dyke media: Bound, Watermelon Woman, Incredibly True Adventures of Two Girls in Love, San Junipero (Black Mirror), Fingersmith (movie), Tipping the Velvet (book)

Underrated queer thing to watch: Harley Quinn (HBO max)

Not queer besides the fact that I write it: I put out a Veronica mars rewatch newsletter: marsinvestigations.xyz

Expand full comment
author

I'll start!

In case you didn't know, my name is Kira. I'm 27, I live in Austin, Texas, but am originally from Seattle, Washington.

My favorite lesbian movies are: Carol, Portrait of a Lady on Fire, Desert Hearts, and Bound.

Fave lesbian-ish tv shows: Buffy, Person of Interest, Orphan Black

Something underrated I think people should watch: The Starz series Vida, which was just recently added to Hulu. (It's incredible.)

I have nothing else to shout out except Paging Dr. Lesbian stickers, which you can find here: https://www.redbubble.com/people/pinkpanda202/shop?asc=u&ref=account-nav-dropdown

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment